Heresy Practice and Flood Control (Sorry For the Inattention)

June 25, 2010

I have received a couple of messages from people who wanted to know when my next post will be and one from someone who wanted to know if I am “alright.” (Boy, that’s a loaded question.)

The answer to the first is, soon. In fact, there will likely be a flurry coming soon. I have been working on 4 articles, one on history, one on my ideas regarding archival theory, one on my ideas regarding the dilemmas faced by professionals including archivists, and one that is centered on both archives theory and practice and religious theory and practice.

In all cases, though to a lesser extent with the historical article, those professionals to whom I have shown the drafts feel they qualify as “outside the box,” “unusual,” extolling a “different point of view,” “something we need to be discussing but no one wants to,” expressing points of view that “no one will listen to, even though they should,” “crazy,” “unreasoned,” “very well reasoned,” or “trash.” They produce a “Wow! I never thought of that,” a “You should be shot” reaction, or simply blank stares or witless grins.

Because these are the reactions I get to most of my posts on this site, at least from the folks who really know me, the material seems to be appropriate for posting. Therefore, I expect to put portions of the papers here as blog posts. I have been asked to submit one to a new on-line journal, but will otherwise likely follow my past pattern of posting them online in pdf for any to read, cite, or print and toss into a fire, as long as their actions are in compliance with copyright laws and local fire codes. The difference between these and previous self-published work will be that some of the reasons I had for publishing anonymously have gone away, so I will likely be forced to step up to the plate and take my hits like a man since my name will be on these. (It will also soon replace pseudonyms on most other works, unless doing so might bring injury to others.) In the meantime, if you stumble upon this post, feel free to communicate with a comment and know  that I am diligently practicing my heresy to perfect its presentation.

The other question, as to whether I am “alright” or not, also has bearing on my reduced presence on the blogosphere (I do blog elsewhere so I have not been totally AWOL.) If it refers to my mental state, I do not know. Obviously if the answer is yes, the answer is yes. By the same token, if the answer should be no, I might believe it to be yes, so my answer would be wrong. For that matter, if I answer no, that might imply that I am “with it” enough to at least know something is wrong, so the answer might really be a qualified yes. Who knows.

All Princess Bride-type speeches aside:

I live in Nashville and the question was actually referring to the recent floods. I’m fine. Some friends and family suffered loss of homes and businesses, and some of the collections at one of the institutions where I work were damaged, not badly but enough to require attention. They will be okay (friends, family and collections) and I got to practice some collection disaster response skills in real life. As the sole archivist for a section of a large denomination, I have also been assisting and advising others who suffered damage at institutional and individual levels. This has taken time away from my blogging, but as my grandfather loves to say, “This, too, shall pass.”

Thanks for the concern.

The Heretic

Leave a Reply

